A.R. Arthur

“… I focus on the here and now and the work I need to get done, continue to support others and allow myself to grow.”

A.R. Arthur (formerly A.R. Salandy), Half Bred (The Poetry Question, 2022)

Could you tell us a bit about your growing up and your path to becoming a writer?

    Perhaps untraditionally, as un-orthodox as my story at large is, I did not enjoy my childhood a great deal and always say now how I would never surrender this agency I have attained. I think that in that frustration and at times, suffering, I saw writing as a mirage in the desert of my childhood. But, to maintain the unorthodox elements here, I never aspired to be a writer nor envisioned that I would grow to become an Author, Editor and Consultant. It’s funny how the universe works but sometimes you just have to go along with it.

    A question from Anna Laura Reeve: Do you understand your role in society—as a poet—to be influential, critical, observant, or something else?

      I very much do! It is why Fahmidan and all other areas of my literary engagement are driven by a desire for social justice, inclusion and above-all genuine accessibility that doesn’t render those needing accommodations to be lesser. My belief in equality especially with POC & Women is something very important to me and is maintained in the way we run Fahmidan.

      How do you contend with saturation? The day’s news, the disasters, the crazy things, the flagged articles, the flagged books, the poetry tweets, the data the data the data. What’s your strategy to navigate your way home?

        I compartmentalize! In an era where folks are overly emotional and too busy screaming into the void of the internet, I focus on the here and now and the work I need to get done, continue to support others and allow myself to grow. There is no use getting bogged down in emotions. Instead, choose to do something, ANYTHING, about it!

        A question from Shome Dasgupta: How are you doing? 

          I am ok. Life as a 23 year old with three autoimmunes can be challenging. My party trick is always getting folks to guess what old-age condition I have. No one tends to guess Arthritis. Lol.

          A question from Karisma Price: Do you have any self-care practices you include when writing about something heavy?

            I write more slowly and factor in my emotional state instead of just putting pen to paper. In so doing, I allow for greater clarity of my own emotions and intent which allows for a more powerful poetic presentation. 

            A question from Toni Ann Johnson: Why are you writing about what you’re writing about?

              With Half Bred, as with all my other writing, I tend to write on the innate oppression that exists in a multi-faceted postmodern era. It can be tough to sometimes formulate poems with these ideas but this is part of the challenge that makes it worthwhile in my opinion.

              How did you decide on the arrangement and title of your book? 

                In terms of arrangement, I believe in physically laying out all poem titles and reading through until you’ve fully planned out the narrative progression so that authorial intent is as clear as possible. The title reflects on my mixed-background specifically, however. 

                Which poem in your book has the most meaningful back story to you? What’s the back story?

                  I have to say that all the poems in Half Bred are so very meaningful to me due to the lived experience associated with them and the othering that comes with experiencing female oppression through one’s mother and latterly, its impact on you as the child. Half Bred is an ode to women who have suffered and continue to suffer at the hands of backward thinking and the Patriarchy globally. 

                  Is there a question you wish you would have been asked about your book? How would you answer it?

                    I wish I was asked about the impact of the aforementioned inequality in terms of the shift between being a child and becoming an adult and how it remains. This would have been great to discuss. I think that as an Adult, I am trying to heal from the oppression, the being boxed in and the difficulties as a whole whereas, when I was a child, I kind of thought that this was the world. It’s incredible how agency works and one’s ability to make meaningful change once they believe in themselves. 

                    A question from Noreen Ocampo: What is something that fuels you as a writer, your writing practice, or just you as a human being?

                      My desire for better in life. Something I often discuss with friends is just how driven Gen-Z is whilst simultaneously wanting to live and not compromising on simple joy. I want better for myself, for others and for those I continue to try and uplift against vast oppression. This fuels me on all three levels. 

                      A question from Susanna Lang: How do you find the next poem?

                        I never force it. I don’t believe in writer’s block and instead believe that writing should come when it comes, not when forced or pressured. This allows for the next poem to truly flow. 

                        A question from Monica Macansantos: Do you ever find yourself inspired or guided by your childhood in your work?

                          I am inspired by the child that deserved better and yearned for ever greater. This drives me to be consistent, persistent and focused on both growing my craft and supporting others. This certainly inspires my work in some of the themes and motifs that come with grief, reflection on hardship and finding solace in the darkness. 

                          What are you working on now? 

                            Currently working on a manuscript focused on grief, divorce and its impact on children and the loss of familial relations not due to death but abuse. 

                            What question would you like to ask authors featured at Speaking of Marvels in the future?

                              How are you ensuring greater youth representation i.e. Gen-Z representation in the literary world beyond the same voices, perspectives and dominance of Gen X & The Millenials?

                              *

                              A.R. Arthur is a Black Mixed-race poet & writer who has spent most of his life in Kuwait jostling between the UK & America. Anthony’s work has been published over 260 times internationally. Anthony’s Reviews have been published, or are forthcoming over 70 times internationally. Anthony’s Flash Fiction was shortlisted and received an honourable mention in the 2022 The Dillydoun Flash Fiction Prize Competition. Anthony has 3 published chapbooks titled ‘The Great Northern Journey’ 2020 (Lazy Adventurer Publishing) & ‘Vultures’ 2021 (Roaring Junior Press) as well as a novel ‘The Sands of Change’ 2021 (Alien Buddha Press). Anthony’s Chapbook ‘Half Bred’ was the Winner of the 2021 ‘The Poetry Question’ Chapbook contest. Anthony writes for Psychopomp and Reviews at The Poetry Question. Anthony is the EIC of Fahmidan Journal/Publishing & Co and Reviews Editor at Full House Literary.

                              Twitter/Instagram: @ararthurwriter 

                              Leave a comment